Press Release

Release Date: May 21, 2018

by Chickasaw Nation Media Relations Office

The Chickasaw Nation Election Commission announces the filing period opens June 4 and continues through June 6, 2018, for the 2018 General Elections.

Candidates must file between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. in the election secretary’s office, located in the Government Services building, 2015 Lonnie Abbott Industrial Boulevard, Ada, Oklahoma.

Legislative seats to be filled are, Seat 1 of Pontotoc District; Seat 2 of Pontotoc District; Seat 1 of Pickens District; Seat 4 of Pickens; Seat 1 of the Tishomingo District.

Seat 2 of the Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court is also up for election this year.

Legislative candidates must be registered Chickasaw voters at least 25 years of age, residents of the Chickasaw Nation for at least one year and of their respective district for at least six months immediately preceding the election.

Legislators must remain residents of their elected district during the tenure of their office. Term of office is three years. Filing fees are $500.

A judicial candidate must be a registered voter of the Chickasaw Nation at least 30 years of age.

Judges must be residents of the Chickasaw Nation during their three-year term of office. Filing fees are $500.

Candidates must bring verification of physical and mailing address, such as a utility bill or homestead exemption, which displays candidate’s physical address, filing fee and upon filing must complete a financial disclosure statement.  Statements are also due at the end of every month during the candidate’s active campaign period.

Candidates will receive an electoral packet containing election rules and regulations, the Chickasaw Constitution, financial disclosure forms, biography form for the Chickasaw Times, and watcher form.  

Candidates must not have been convicted of a felony.  Background checks are conducted on all candidates.

Primary election is July 31 and run-off election is Aug. 28, if applicable.

For further assistance, please contact Rita Loder, election secretary toll free at 1-888-661-0137.