Governor Bill Anoatubby has been a member of the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes since 1978. The council is one of the most prestigious and influential Indian organizations in the United States, representing around 815,000 First Americans. As a member of the council, Governor Anoatubby has served as its president, vice president and, at various times, as chairman of the housing and legislative committees. In January of 1996, he was again elected vice president of the organization.

In 1988, Governor Anoatubby was appointed to the President's Council of the Ada (Oklahoma) Area Chamber of Commerce. In the same year, he was elected to the board of directors of the chamber by its members.

In that year, he was appointed to the Oklahoma Indian Affairs Commission by Oklahoma Governor Henry Bellmon. In 1991, he was reappointed to the commission by Governor David Walters. Governor Anoatubby also served on the Advisory Committee on Indian Economic Development for the Oklahoma Department of Commerce.

In 1990, Governor Anoatubby was appointed to the Trail of Tears National Historic Trail Advisory Committee, in the U.S. Department of the Interior, to work on the preservation and development of the series of national historic trails throughout the United States. He served on that committee until 1992.

He served as a member of the board of trustees of Oklahoma City University from 1991 until 1998.

Governor Anoatubby also served two years on the board of directors of 5 Who Care, an organization sponsored by the American Broadcasting Corporation's affiliate, KOCO-TV in Oklahoma City. This organization selects and honors outstanding Oklahomans in annual ceremonies held at the state Capitol.

He is a member of the board of directors of the Oklahoma State Chamber of Commerce and Industry, having been appointed in 1991. In 1992, he also served on the Governor's Health Care Commission to study health care in rural Oklahoma.

In 1992, he was a member of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Special Study Group, which was formed to study the development and application of EPA rules and regulations in Indian Country in Region VI.

Governor Anoatubby is a member of the National Congress of American Indians, having participated in that organization since 1979.

The mayor of the City of Ada appointed Governor Anoatubby to serve on the Mayor's Advisory Committee, in 1993, to plan for the future of the city and surrounding community.

The president of the United States appointed Governor Anoatubby to serve on the board of trustees of the Morris K. Udall Scholarship and Excellence in National Environmental Policy Foundation. The foundation was developed to foster greater recognition and understanding of the role of the environment, public lands and natural resources in the development of the United States. The foundation is charged with establishing a program for environmental policy research and environmental conflict resolution. It develops resources to train professionals in the environmental fields as well as Native American and Alaska Native professionals in health care and public policy. His presidential appointment to this position was confirmed by the U.S. Senate in 1995.

From 1995 to 1998, he served on the board of directors of the Oklahoma State Board for Easter Seals and Crippled Children. In 1995, he accepted service with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region VI advisory committee to advise the director of the agency in Washington, D.C.

In 1997, he accepted a seat on the board of directors of Leadership Oklahoma and is a member of Leadership Oklahoma Class III. He also serves on the board of the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence and on the board for the Oklahoma Academy of State Goals.

In 2004, Governor Anoatubby was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame. Likewise, in 2005, he was appointed by Oklahoma Governor Brad Henry to the Oklahoma Health Care Authority Board of Directors.

In addition, Governor Anoatubby was awarded the “Most Honored One” and “Friend of the Court” by the Oklahoma Supreme Court in 2005.

Civic and Community Activities

Current Leadership Positions:



Past Leadership Positions:

Awards and Honors: